Lavender & Letting Go « Talk Birth

This is a very moving article written by a very strong lady.  My heart goes out to her.

My life has taken a sad and unexpected turn. I was 14 weeks pregnant with my third baby and we found out on Friday afternoon that the baby had died. Very early Saturday morning, he was born at home. Though it was different in some ways than a full-term birth, my experience of miscarriage was very much a birth–my water broke, I had “normal” contractions for about two hours, the baby was born, we saw the tiny umbilical cord, and so forth. I was surprised to discover that some of the same feelings of empowerment were also present after a “natural home miscarriage” as with a natural home birth–I felt strong and brave and like “I did it myself!” as well as amazed at how well my body worked and knew what to do. We learned the baby was our third boy and named him Noah.

Read the full article here:  Lavender & Letting Go (Warning: Miscarriage/Baby Loss) « Talk Birth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Things that might interest you, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

